My experiences in Lima and Peru will no doubt stay with me always – the people I have encountered, the places I have seen and even the daily routines which have become part of my life. Before I made my decision to come to South America I spent an agonizing week or so weighing up my options and sounding these out to a few very patient listeners. I feel that this experience would not have been possible without the help, support and advice of family and friends both before my departure and throughout the duration of my stay. This includes all of those who have followed the blunders, mishaps and discoveries documented in Letters From Lima.

I would like to thank all readers – from the casual photo-skimmers to the regulars following the updates over their morning coffee. I want to extend thanks to the members of family who helped talk through my options with me before I left and gave me support and advice when I finally came to my decision. The going-away cards I received were touching, and decorated my room in Lima for my entire stay. Receiving post whilst I was in Peru also made a huge difference, so thank you for the parcels and letters which lifted my spirits after a long slog at the office.

Feliz Navidad to one and all! This is Letters From Lima, signing off.