Tags

, , ,

Almost home!

I am currently in the wonderful world of Schiphol Airport, waiting for my third and final flight and looking forward to being back on British soil.

My last day at the office finished with a lunch down by the seafront where, instead of the usual sunny conditions expected at this time of year, we had views of overcast skies – although I guess this is appropriate preparation for the winter weather that will greet me when I touch down in England.

I am feeling absolutely knackered, having had only a couple of hours sleep as a result of my flight times. Luckily these flights have been largely uneventful and I’ve experienced good service from both Copa Airlines and KLM. Things began well with a very cheery man at the check-in desk in Lima, who commented on my birthday and thought it was ‘very cool’ when I told him that my sister’s birthday fell on December 26th. This is my standard response when I receive any comments about my birthday, as well as pointing out my seasonally-appropriate name. However, I’ve realised this doesn’t go down so well in Peru, where the holly tree is an unknown and instead I am told that my name is religious ‘Holly – yes, like holy.’ Still, I suppose I shouldn’t knock this pious elevation!

Passport control in Lima involved a long queue as expected, being the holiday season. However, after waiting patiently in line I was told by the woman at the control desk that I didn’t have the correct immigration card and would have to go to another desk. After a second wait I was informed that as I didn’t have said piece of paper I would have to pay a fine. I was rather confused, having still not been told what the piece of paper was, or when I was supposed to have received it. After a slightly anxious few minutes of thinking that my last Peruvian Soles would have to be spent on this mystery paper, I managed to find an official-looking slip tucked away in the back of my passport. This was apparently what was needed and I was waved through without any further fuss or fine. Hurrah!

I boarded the plane around 2pm and once we were in the air bid Lima a fond farewell with the first of my ‘free’ tipples of the journey – ah, the benefits of the long-haul flight. This flight to Panama went smoothly and after a brief wander and quick sample of rum at Panama City airport, I was back in the air and Amsterdam-bound. On an aeroplane there are only a few things to occupy the mind: the films, the drink and the meals, and I can give a firm thumbs up to all three on my last flight. The vegetarian meals were surprisingly tasty and, as I’d pre-ordered them, came out well before the rest of the passengers’.

Spending the run-up to Christmas outside of the UK has been new to me, and although I am all for new experiences, I am very much looking forward to some English festive traditions. Schiphol is decked out with trees, fairylights and staff dressed up as Father Christmas and – my favourite, a Christmas tree. Although exhausted, I think catching any sleep is impossible, so with a little more time to kill before my third and final flight I shall be relaxing in the airport and thinking festive thoughts…